Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum is housed in the Ohel Moishe Synagogue, which was established in 1907 to serve Jewish refugees who sought sanctury in Shanghai in order to escape from massacre. As an important part of Shanghai Jewish heritage, the museum also has a small gallery and introduction video about the history and life of the Jews in Shanghai.
The museum, located at 62 Changyang Road, Hongkou District, consists of three parts: the former site of Ohel Moshe Synagogue and two exhibition halls. It is an important component of the “Tilanqiao Historic Area” and serves as a witness commemorating the phase of history when the Jewish refugees lived in Shanghai.
The former site of Ohel Moshe Synagogue
The Ohel Moshe Synagogue is one of the only two synagogues in Shanghai built by Russian Jews where the Jewish refugees gathered for religious rites during the Second World War. In 2004, it was listed among the fourth set of architectural heritage treasures of Shanghai. Mr. Yitzhak Rabin, the former Israeli Prime Minister, commented during his visit to Shanghai, “To the people of Shanghai for unique humanitarian act of saving thousands of Jews during the Second World War, thanks in the name of the government of Israel.”
In March 2007, the People’s Government of Hongkou District budgeted special funds for a full renovation of the synagogue in accordance with the original architectural drawings found in the city archives. The former site of Ohel Moshe Synagogue has been restored to the same architectural style when it used as a synagogue in 1928. In addition, the interior structures have also been adjusted according to the drawings. The duplication of the architectural drawing is shown on the first floor. A sign-in machine, a database of the Jewish refugees and video programs are available on the third floor with temporary exhibits.
The first floor houses the sanctuary where visitors can see the original mosaic floors and the ark. The walls and pillars of stone-arched door way have been repainted. The old furnishings are gone. Seats and hanging lamps have been added. Old pictures of Jewish halls and houses built by Jewish tycoon David Sassoon hang on the walls. Next to the sanctuary, in the synagogue's former kitchen, is a showroom for Jewish art exhibits. The second floor is divided into two rooms. One contains a gallery of photos and stories from the ghetto along with photos of former Jewish residents who returned for visits. More than 100 photos and sculptures are displayed; a short movie detailing Jewish history in Shanghai plays on a multi-screen system. The second room, with a large conference table and books on the history of Jews in China, was the location of a private "classroom." The third floor exhibits articles from refugee families, furniture and a brief account of a Mr Levinsky, who lived in the room in the 1930s. The museum is further developing the third story with more interactive content. An interactive database was launched in June 2008 to complete the name list of Jewish refugees in the Tilanqiao area. So far, 14,800 names have been stored in the database.
Entrance Fee: CNY 50 Opening Hours: 9:00-17:00 Subway: TakeSubway Line 4and get off at Dalian Road Station. Get out from Exit 3 to Changyang Road. Then walk down the street about 500 meters to the museum. Bus Route: Take bus 13, 22, 33, 319, 868, 934 and get off at East Changzhi Road Haimen Road Station in Tilanqiao area. -