Home>>>China tour>>>>China Travel Tips

Chinese Time Difference

What is the time in China Now?

Despite China being a vast country

geographically spanning several time zones the whole of China operates to a single Standard Time (GMT+8) all year round.

What Time Zone is China Time in?

China Time Standard Time is 8 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+8).

Time Zone of China
Geographically, China covers five time zones (Zhongyuan Time Zone, Longshu Time Zone, Tibet Time Zone, Kunlun Time Zone and Changbai Time Zone). However, the standard times used in Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan Province are the same, for they are all in the same time zone (UTC+8), 8 hours ahead of the Universal Time Coordinated.

Beijing Time
For the unity, the whole China adopts Beijing Time as its standard time, which is also in the time zone (GMT+8). Beijing Time is worked out and released from the National Time Service Center, Pucheng County, Shaanxi Province, which is geographically almost the center of China. Unlike western countries, China now does not follow the daylight saving time. For the current local times, please refer to the The World Clock.

World Time Difference to China
The time in China is 13 hours ahead of New York, 12 hours ahead of Toronto, and 2 hours behind Melbourne. When Beijing is 12:00 at noon, the standard times in other main cities are as follows:

City Time City Time City Time
Baghdad 06:00 Helsinki 06:00 Pyongyang 13:00
Bangkok 11:00 Ho Chi Minh City 11:00 Rangoon 10:00
Berlin 05:30 Honolulu 18:00 Rio de Janeiro 01:00
Berne 05:00 Irkutsk 12:00 Rome 05:30
Bombay 09:30 Jakarta 11:30 Rwanda 05:00
Brussels 04:00 Karachi 09:00 San Francisco 20:00
Bucharest 06:00 Khartoum 06:00 Santiago 24:00
Budapest 05:00 Kuala Lumpur 11:30 Seoul 13:00
Buenos Aires 01:00 Leningrad 07:00 Singapore 11:30
Cairo 06:00 Lisbon 04:00 Sofia 06:00
Calcutta 09:00 London 04:00 Stockholm 05:00
Cape Town 06:00 Manila 12:00 Surabaya 11:30
Casablanca 04:00 Melbourne 14:00 Sydney 14:00
Colombo 09:30 Mexico City 21:00 Teheran 06:00
Conakry 04:00 Montreal 23:00 Tirana 05:00
Copenhagen 05:00 Moscow 07:00 Tokyo 13:00
Damascus 06:00 New Delhi 09:30 Tunisia 05:00
Geneva 05:00 New York 23:00 Vancouver 20:00
Guatemala City 22:00 Osaka 13:00 Vienna 05:00
Haiphong 11:00 Panama City 23:00 Warsaw 05:00
Hanoi 11:00 Paris 04:00 Washington 23:00
Havana 23:00 Prague 05:00 Wellington 16:00

ChinaTravelTips       ChinaTravelTips    Tips on how to prepare for a China trip 

 Chinese Etiquette  Chinese Time Difference  Chinese Etiquette
 Chinese Adoption  China Food and Drink  Medical Issues in China
 Safety & Security in China  China Health & Medical Service  Preparing for Travel in China
 Travel Documents  China Accommodation  How to make travel Plan?
 Travel Insurance  China Transportation  Where to Go For China Tour?
  Tibet FAQ  Shopping in China  Travel Costs in China
 More Silk Road Tips  FAQ  Departure for your China Travel
 More Yangtze River Cruise Tips     More Travel Tips  Health issues during China Trip